Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



China New Energy Limited

(Incorporated in Jersey, Channel Islands with limited liability and carrying on business in Hong Kong as "Zhongke Tianyuan New Energy Limited")

(Stock Code: 1156)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, CHAIRMAN AND MEMBER OF AUDIT COMMITTEE, AND MEMBER OF RISK MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

The board (the "**Board**") of directors ("**Directors**") of China New Energy Limited (the "**Company**") announces that Ms. Wong Mei Ling ("**Ms. Wong**") has been appointed as an independent non-executive Director, a member and the chairman of the Audit Committee, and a member of the Risk Management Committee of the Company with effect from 15 March 2023.

Ms. Wong, aged 61, obtained a master degree of Finance of the Curtin University. She is a member of Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants and has over 20 years of experience in accounting field. Ms. Wong was an independent non-executive director of Global Token Limited (the shares of which were delisted from the Growth Enterprise Market (GEM) of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited ("**Stock Exchange**") with effect from 20 April 2021) from December 2016 to April 2021. She was also the chief financial officer of Sun Television Cybernetworks Enterprise Limited from July 2011 to January 2016, and the financial controller of Up Energy Development Group Limited (the shares of which were delisted from the Main Board of the Stock Exchange with effect from 5 January 2022) from September 2006 to July 2011. Ms. Wong has entered into a letter of appointment with the Company for a term of three years commencing from 15 March 2023 and is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election pursuant to the articles of association of the Company. She is entitled to a director fee of HK\$120,000 per annum (excluding payment pursuant to any discretionary benefits or bonus or other fringe benefits) as an independent non-executive Director which is determined by the Board by reference to her duties and responsibilities with the Company, the Company's remuneration policy and the remuneration committee's recommendation.

As at the date of this announcement, Ms. Wong does not have any interests and short positions in the shares or underlying shares of the Company and its associated corporations within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Save as disclosed above, Ms. Wong does not hold any directorship in any listed public companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the past three years and does not have any relationship with any Directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company for the purpose of the Listing Rules.

There is no information required to be disclosed pursuant to the requirements as set out in Rule 13.51(2)(h) to (v) of the Listing Rules and there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in relation to the appointment of Ms. Wong.

The Board would like to welcome Ms. Wong to join the Board.

Compliance with Rules 3.10(1), 3.10(2) and 3.21 of the Listing Rules

Reference is made to the announcement of the Company dated 16 December 2022 in relation to, among others, the retirement of Mr. Chan Siu Shan Sam as an Independent Non-executive Director. Following the appointment of Ms. Wong, the Company has fully complied with the requirements under Rules 3.10(1), 3.10(2) and 3.21 of the Listing Rules.

By Order of the Board China New Energy Limited Yu Weijun Chairman

Hong Kong, 15 March 2023

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises two executive directors, namely Mr. Yu Weijun (Chairman) and Mr. Tang Zhaoxing (Chief Executive Officer); and three independent non-executive directors, namely Mr. Richard Antony Bennett, Mr. Chan Shing Fat Heron and Ms. Wong Mei Ling.